Government Relations

UM Legislative Update Newsletter

November 11, 2005

ASUM celebrates its 30th anniversary

The Associated Students of the University of Missouri (ASUM) celebrated its 30th anniversary on Nov. 4, 2005. A reception and program was held at the MU Life Sciences Center with guest speakers Dr. Elson S. Floyd, UM President; Tom Atkins, President of the UM Board of Curators; Rob Monsees, Deputy Chief of Staff-Policy for Gov. Blunt and ASUM alumnus; Minority Leader Rep. Jeff Harris (D-Columbia); Rep. Jim Avery (R-Crestwood), an ASUM alumnus; Sen. Chuck Graham (D-Columbia); and Craig Kleine, ASUM Board Chair. Nearly 100 were in attendance as state House and Senate proclamations were presented, U.S. Congressional records were summarized, and a Governor’s Proclamation was presented by Rob Monsees on behalf of the governor.

ASUM Board Chair Craig Kleine gave an overview of 30 years of legislative accomplishments of ASUM, the student voice in government. Throughout its three decades, ASUM has had 224 legislative interns and 641 alumni, including UM students who served on the Board, worked in staff positions, or served as lobbyists representing the interests of UM students. During the 2006 session, ASUM will have 10 legislative interns in the Missouri State Capitol and one intern at the federal level through a new program.

Additional honorary guests in attendance included Sen. Carl Vogel (R-6); Rep. Judy Baker (D-Columbia); former Rep. Vicky Riback Wilson; Columbia Mayor Darwin Hindman; Columbia City Councilman Jim Loveless; and former UM Board of Curators President Hugh Stephenson.

Back to index