Government Relations

UM Legislative Update Newsletter

April 7, 2006

UM faculty honored with Governor’s Award for Teaching Excellence


Gov. Matt Blunt with UMR Professor Oran Pringle and Chancellor Jack Carney.

Gov. Matt Blunt with UMKC Professor Jerzey Wrobel and Interim Provost Bruce Bubacz.

Gov. Matt Blunt with UMSL awardee Elizabeth Vining and Chancellor Tom George.

University of Missouri faculty were among those honored with the 2006 Governor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching during a luncheon held Wednesday, April 5 in Jefferson City. Gov. Matt Blunt presented the awards to the University honorees, including Dr. Daniel Turban, professor of management and Stephen Furbacher Professorship in Organizational Change, MU; Dr. Jerzy Wrobel, associate professor of physics, UMKC; Dr. Oran Allan Pringle, professor of physics, UMR; and Elizabeth Vining, senior lecturer and international business coordinator, UMSL. Recipients were selected by their respective institutions for outstanding teaching, innovation in course design and delivery, effective advising, service to the institution’s community, and commitment to excellence.

Back to index