Posted by

UM Board of Curators

University of Missouri

Board of Curators The Governing Body of the University of Missouri

Board Member Selection

The members of the Board of Curators each represent a congressional district within the State of Missouri; they must live 2 years prior to their time as a curator in their corresponding district. To serve on the Board of Curators, one must have been appointed by the governor with the advice and permission of Missouri’s Senate. A curator’s term on the Board is 6 years, with 3 members of the Board’s terms expiring every 2 years. One congressional district is represented twice due to an at-large member for the purpose of preserving an odd number on the board. Learn more about each curator here.

Current Curators

David R. Bradley (District 6 – St. Joseph)
Donald L. Cupps (District 7 – Cassville)
Don M. Downing (District 2 – Webster Groves)
Wayne Goode, Chairman (District 1 – St. Louis)
Pamela Quigg Henrickson (District 3 – Jefferson City)
John R. Phillips (District 5 – Kansas City)
J. Michael Ponder (District 8 – Cape Girardeau)
David L. Steward (District 2 – St. Louis)

Missouri Senate Approves 2 New Curators.

Student Representative to the Board

The current student representative is Amy Johnson, a junior at UMKC. Governor Jay Nixon appointed her in January of 2012, with her term expiring in January of 2014. The student representative’s term is only 2 years for the purpose of rotating between all four University of Missouri campuses. Read more about Amy here.

Meeting Dates

-Thursday – Friday, Jan. 31-Feb. 1 at UMKC
-Thursday – Friday, April 11-12 at Missouri S&T
-Thursday – Friday, June 13-14 at Columbia, MO (Annual Meeting)
-Friday, July 19 – Teleconference
-Thursday – Friday, Sept. 12-13 at MU
-Thursday – Friday, Nov. 21-22 at UMSL

Twitter Highlights

Follow @umcurators to stay informed regarding Board of Curator ongoings.

-Enrollment has grown by about 19,00 students since 2001.
-UM System accounted for 90% of the undergraduate enrollment growth among the state’s four year institutions.
-Deferred maintenance and repair backlog is at $1B.
-Curators voted to increase tuition on its four campuses 1.7% (CPI) for Missouri resident undergraduate students.
-For every dollar invested in the Research Board, faculty receive 2.2X the amount of investment in external funding.
-The FastTrack program has a 2:1 return and led to 4 patent applications, 7 license agreements, and 5 start-up businesses.
-President Obama will award Mizzou researcher M. Frederick Hawthorne the National Medial of Science.
-Currently, gifts and endowment are 3% of the overall budget at Mizzou.

Expectations & Responsibilities for the University of Missouri Board of Curators

0 0 2273 08 February, 2013 Uncategorized February 8, 2013

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *