Intercampus Faculty Cabinet Regular Meeting May 8, 2023 Minutes

Shared Governance Committee Update - Associate Professor Pamela Stuerke

Associate Professor Stuerke provided updates on the subcommittee's efforts to date including the processes utilized in obtaining and compiling survey data, as well as how results of their survey of faculty regarding shared governance will be presented to the campuses.

President's Session – President Mun Choi

President Choi provided system-wide updates regarding university priorities. Topics of discussion included but were not limited to conflict of interest policies and the process and approvals required for issuing merit raises.

Curators' Session (Lunch) - Board Chair Michael Williams and Vice Chair Robin Wenneker

Curators Williams and Wenneker joined the IFC for an informal discussion over lunch. Following introductions, the group discussed multiple topics of importance to faculty members related to shared governance, academic freedom, and the operations of the Board.

Proposed CRR Revisions – Deputy General Counsel Paul Maguffee

Deputy General Counsel Maguffee discussed proposed changes to CRR 200.010: Standard of Conduct and CRR 200.020: Rules of Procedure in Student or Student Organization Conduct Matters. IFC members provided feedback and Maguffee will incorporate suggestions into final redline as appropriate.

Non-Tenure Track (NTT) Promotion Processes – Associate Professor Kathleen Sheppard

Associate Professor Sheppard and IFC members discussed the processes and policies for promoting NTT faculty at each of the four universities. Relevant CRRs pertaining to this process were reviewed and discussed.

Year-End Discussion/Reflection/Wrap-up

IFC members reflected on the day's discussions and shared topics to discuss in AY24. Topics included but were not limited to software audits and expectations/compensation for remote work. Chair Graham McCaulley adjourned the meeting. The new Cabinet will convene in Fall 2023 with Shannon Jackson, UMKC Professor of Anthropology and Chair of the Sociology and Anthropology Department, as Chair.

Updated: 05/23/2023