ASUM Leadership

The Associated Students of the University of Missouri (ASUM) is led by a Board of Directors consisting of student leaders from across the four UM System campuses in Columbia, Kanas City, St. Louis, and Rolla, Mo. The group meets once per month via video conference and has a retreat in the fall.

Below is some brief information about ASUM’s current leadership. To contact us, please send an email to For some more information on how ASUM is organized, click here.


ASUM Leadership

Steven Chaffin, Executive Director & Board Chair

As Executive Director, Steven is tasked with coordinating the efforts of the Board of Directors, liaising with Campus Presidents, preparing the Annual Legislative Platform, preparing the budget, and appointing and overseeing the work of the Legislative and Assistant Legislative Director. Contact:

Chelsea Spence, Legislative Director

As Legislative Director, Chelsea is the primary person responsible for directing ASUM’s State Internship Program in Jefferson City. She advises the Executive Director on the formation of the Annual Legislative Platform and plays a critical role in the selection of the Intern Team. Contact:

Natalie Butler, Assistant Legislative Director

As Assistant Legislative Director, Natalie assists the Executive and Legislative Director in the running of the State Internship Program and provides strategic and administrative support. Natalie is also responsible for the quality and distribution of the weekly ASUM newsletter. Contact:

Below are the names and contact information of the Campus Chapter delegations to the Board of Directors. This is an excellent, easy and flexible way to get involved with our organization!


Mizzou Chapter 

  • Contact via:
  • Chris Dade, President
  • Nathan Willett, Student Gov’t Representative & Student Body President
  • Mike Hendricks, Graduate Student Representative & GPC Director of State Affairs


UMKC Chapter 

  • Contact via:
  • Rachel Young, President
  • Vacant, Student Gov’t Representative
  • Vacant, Graduate Student Representative


UMSL Chapter 

  • Contact via:
  • Jordan Lucas, President
  • Briana Robertson, Student Gov’t Representative
  • Nate Theus, Graduate Student Representative


S&T Chapter 

  • Contact via:
  • Paul Black, President
  • Connor Toth, Student Gov’t Representative
  • Adriane Melnyczuk, Graduate Student Representative

2017-2018 Intern Team

  • Sean Williams (S&T)
  • Jordan Young (MU)
  • Amanda Aiken (S&T)
  • Adam Rapert (UMSL)
  • Gabriela Martinez (MU)
  • Brandon Henderson (UMKC)
  • Jennifer Mossgraber (UMSL)

2016-2017 Intern Team

  • Chelsea Spence (MU)
  • Natalie Butler (MU)
  • Mackenzie Landa (MU)
  • Alison Bonner (MU)
  • Jordan Lucas (UMSL)
  • Adam Mire (UMSL)
  • David Bippes (S&T)

Click here for an archive of previous intern teams.

If you have any additional questions, feel free to reach out to the ASUM Central Office at

Print Friendly, PDF & Email