Jan. 28, 2011

Higher Education Appropriations Hearings Next Week

The Senate Appropriations committee, chaired by Senator Kurt Schaefer (R-Columbia) and the House Appropriations – Education committee, chaired by Rep. Mike Lair (R-Chillicothe), will hold hearings on the FY 2012 higher education budget on February 1 and 2.  University of Missouri Interim President Steve Owens is scheduled to testify before both committees on February 2nd.  The hearings represent the first step in the budget-making process, which must be finalized by May 6th

Curators approve 5.5% tuition, required fee increase for the 2011-2012 academic year

On Friday, January 28th, the Board of Curators approved an average tuition and required fee increase of 5.5% for the University of Missouri System campuses. Previously, the Curators decoupled tuition among the campuses. The tuition and required fee  increases will be as follows for each UM campus:
UMSL: 4.7%
Missouri S&T: 6.6%
UMKC: 4.8%
MU: 5.8%

The Board also approved a process for course fee increases. Because the tuition and fee increases are above the Consumer Price Index (CPI), a waiver request is must be approved from the Commissioner of Higher Education pursuant to Missouri statute.

Curators weigh in on selection language as House prepares to hear bill

Missouri is set to lose one of its nine congressional districts as a result of the 2010 Census, causing a conflict with current state statutes governing selection of members of the Board of Curators.  Since the state constitution requires that there be nine curators, the statute requiring no more than one from the same congressional district must be changed.

On Friday January 28, the Board of Curators voted to support modifying the statutory language to require “at least one but no more than two” appointments from each congressional district.  HB 174, sponsored by Rep. Mike Thomson, (R-Maryville) is scheduled to be heard before the House Higher Education Committee on Tuesday. A similar bill, SB 163 has been filed in the Senate by Education Committee Chair David Pearce (R-Warrensburg).

Gov. Nixon appoints three new members to the Board of Curators

This week, Governor Jay Nixon appointed David Steward, Don Cupps, and Craig Van Matre to the Board of Curators for the University of Missouri. Steward, Cupps, and Van Matre will begin their terms upon confirmation by the Missouri Senate.

David Steward is the chairman of World Wide Technology, a leading provider both nationally and internationally of technology products and services to customers. He currently serves on the Executive Advisory Board of Gov. Nixon’s Strategic Initiative for Economic Growth. Steward will replace outgoing Curator David Wasinger.

Don Cupps has two degress from MU, a bachelors degree in agriculture economics and a J.D. from the MU School of Law. He practices law at Ellis, Cupps and Cole and is the attorney for the city of Cassville. Cupps will replace outgoing Curator John Carnahan.

Craig Van Matre has two degrees from MU, a bachelors degree in English, and a J.D. from the MU School of Law. He is president of the law firm Van Matre, Harrison, Hollis, Pitzer & Taylor in Columbia. Van Matre will replace outgoing Curator Bo Fraser.

MU Recognizes Sen. Kurt Schaefer, Sam Hawkins with Geyer Award

Senator Kurt Schaefer (R-Columbia) and Sam Hawkins were awarded the 2010 Geyer Award by the Mizzou Alumni Association for their positive impact on higher education and for supporting the university.

Schaefer was recognized for his support of Mizzou in the Missouri Senate. Sam Hawkins was recognized for his commitment to MU Extension.

Each year the Mizzou Legislative Network of the Mizzou Alumni Association awards the Henry S. Geyer Award, named for Representative Geyer of St. Louis, the author of the Geyer Act of 1839, which established University of Missouri.

Geyer Award 1

Geyer awardees Senator Kurt Schaefer (left) and Sam Hawkins (right) with Mizzou Legislative Network Committee Chair Wally Pfeffer (center).

 Mizzou Alumni chapter hosts event for area legislators

The College of Arts & Science Alumni Organization and the Mizzou Legislative Network hosted its annual local legislative reception Thursday, January 27, in downtown Columbia. Senator Kurt Schaefer (R-Columbia), Rep. Chris Kelly (D-Columbia), Rep. Mary Still (D-Columbia), and Rep. Stephen Webber (D-Columbia) all participated in the event. The legislators discussed the University’s budget request and urged alumni to build strong relationships with their legislators across the state and encourage support for the University. Wally Pfeffer, chairman of the Mizzou Legislative Network steering committee, emceed the event.

Webber Photo

Rod & Susie Robison (left & right) visit with Rep. Stephen Webber (center) at the legislative reception on Thursday, January 27.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Print This Post Print This Post