Skip to main content

President's Award for Career Excellence

Criteria for Nomination and Selection


There are two categories of Faculty Awards for Excellence.

  1. The Early Career Award recognizes faculty who exhibit exceptional promise within their first seven years with the university.Promise may be demonstrated in scholarship, research, or creativity. Total professional experience since award of highest degree cannot exceed ten years.
  2. The Sustained Excellence Award recognizes faculty for distinguished career-long, sustained excellence in scholarship, research or creativity, for a period of fifteen or more years.
Number of awards and award amounts

There will be up to four $4,000 faculty excellence awards, less applicable taxes.  The distribution of the awards across the two categories will depend on the strength of the applicant pool for each category. Nominations will be accepted into the following categories: Humanities/Social & Behavioral Sciences and STEM/Natural Sciences. Nominators should identify the appropriate category within the nomination. 

Who is eligible to be nominated?

All benefits-eligible faculty who meet the employment criterion may be nominated. A nominee's appointment may not be more than 50% administrative.

Who may nominate?

Candidates may be nominated by any benefits-eligible faculty member or administrator.

Selection Committee

Representatives from each campus will be appointed by the provost.

Timeline for Awards
  • Call for nominations: December 1, 2020
  • Nomination deadline: February 1, 2021

Download the Nomination Formdocument icon

Reviewed 2020-12-18