Your Employer: A Profile

Certain aspects of the University of Missouri date back to the founding of the Columbia campus in 1839. Since then, the institution has developed into a system of campuses serving Missourians border to border.

As the first publicly-supported institution of higher education established in the Louisiana Purchase territory, the university has been largely influenced by the ideals and philosophy of Thomas Jefferson, an advocate of public higher education. Today, Jefferson’s name is associated with many awards, groups and facilities of the university.

The university remained a single campus at Columbia until the School of Mines and Metallurgy was established at Rolla in 1870. About the same time, the university also assumed land-grant responsibilities for providing higher educational opportunities for all citizens.

The University of Missouri assumed control of the University of Kansas City in 1963 and established a campus in St. Louis that same year, thereby completing the present statewide multi-campus university.

Teaching is the university’s primary mission. The university offers more than 600 degree and graduate certificate programs in nearly 40 schools, colleges and divisions. Practically every major field of study is available, except for architecture, which is provided through a student exchange program with Kansas and Nebraska. The university grants more than 16,500 degrees annually and serves as the only state public institution responsible for doctoral and professional degree programs such as law, pharmacy, dentistry, medicine, optometry and veterinary medicine.

University research programs involve almost every conceivable area. Grant and contract support, including research, approximates $312 million annually from all sources. Among the facilities available for research are two nuclear reactors, highly sophisticated computers and other laboratory equipment and — most important of all — scholars and scientists who are assisted by many support staff and students.

The university is not confined to the campuses. What is discovered and known must be transmitted to people who can apply that knowledge to all facets of life. To accomplish its land-grant mission, the university relies upon its statewide and local extension programs. These programs are clustered in the areas of agriculture and natural resources, business development, community development, continuing education, 4-H youth development and human environmental sciences.

All four campuses are involved in each of the overall missions. Each campus also contains its own unique features. The degree programs differ, for instance, and the mix and types of students vary from campus to campus.

Reviewed 2013-02-11.