Go to navigation Go to content

Entrepreneurship Program Named National Model

The Regnier Institute for Entrepreneurship and Innovation undergraduate entrepreneurship program at the University of Missouri-Kansas City has been named the 2014 National Model Undergraduate Entrepreneurship Program by the United States Association for Small Business and Entrepreneurship (USASBE).

The program and Institute are housed within the new Henry W. Bloch Executive Hall for Entrepreneurship and Innovation at the Henry W. Bloch School of Management.

In 2012, the Bloch School’s MBA in entrepreneurship was named the National Model Graduate Entrepreneurship Program by USASBE.

The award continues the consistent recognition the Bloch School’s entrepreneurship programs have received over the past few years, including having both the undergraduate and graduate programs currently ranked among the top 20 in the nation by The Princeton Review, and UMKC’s designation as the No. 1 university in the world for innovation management research.

This research is driven by three of the Bloch School’s entrepreneurship faculty, including the No. 1, No. 4 and No. 50 innovation management scholars in the world.

The award was based on seven basic criteria including innovation, quality, comprehensiveness, sustainability, transferability, depth of support and impact. The leadership of the Regnier Institute represented the school at the competition in Fort Worth, Texas on Jan. 13.

“The USASBE National Model Undergraduate Program award recognizes a program that is not only exemplary in its innovation, quality, comprehensiveness, sustainability, depth of support and impact, but that serves as a model for other schools to emulate,” said Regnier Institute Executive Director Dr. Michael Song. “It acknowledges a significant and ongoing contribution to entrepreneurship education and practice. We are proud to accept the award, with the understanding that it acknowledges the efforts of many people and organizations, including not only our faculty, staff, and students, but also our mentors, the Regnier Family Foundation and the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation.”