Go to navigation Go to content

Presidential Search Advisory Committee Named by UM Board of Curators


Christian Basi

March 19, 2010

The University of Missouri Board of Curators has named 17 individuals to a committee that will interview finalists for the institution’s presidency and provide advice to the Board. The 17 individuals represent a variety of interests across the University’s four campuses, including students, faculty, alumni, staff and services to Missourians.

The appointments were announced Monday by Don Walsworth, chair of the Board of Curators, during a presidential search forum at the University of Missouri-Columbia.

“As we seek a new leader, it’s important that the Board consider the views of those who support the institution every day in so many ways,” said Walsworth, of Marceline. “I’m impressed by the quality, energy and devotion of those who have agreed to serve on the advisory committee.”

The advisory panel will be chaired by Dr. Frank Schmidt of the University of Missouri-Columbia, who chairs the Intercampus Faculty Council.

“The entire University of Missouri family has a vital stake in this process, and the advisory committee will work to ensure that the next President can work with all of its members,” Dr. Schmidt said. “We urge all members of the University family and the public to contact any of the advisory committee members with their input. All Missourians have a stake in the success of this search.”

Dr. Schmidt said he expects to schedule an organizational meeting of the advisory committee in the near future. The Board of Curators has hired an executive search consultant, Jerry Baker of Atlanta-based Baker and Associates, to identify potential presidential candidates for the Board’s consideration. After the Board of Curators identifies finalists, the advisory committee would be asked to interview those candidates. The advisory committee would report its impressions and advice about the finalists to the Board of Curators, which will make the final selection.

The Board is seeking a successor to Dr. Elson S. Floyd, who is assuming the presidency of Washington State University.

University of Missouri Presidential Search Advisory Committee (in alphabetical order)

Dr. Frank Schmidt – Presidential Search Advisory Committee Chair

Chair, Intercampus Faculty Council

University of Missouri-Columbia

Dr. Richard Brow

Curators’ Professor, Ceramic Engineering

University of Missouri-Rolla

Dr. Meera Chandrasekhar

Curators’ Teaching Professor, Physics

University of Missouri-Columbia

Mr. Matteo Coco

UMR Alumni Association

St. Louis

Dr. Marilyn Coleman

Curators’ Professor, Human Development and Family Studies

University of Missouri-Columbia

Mr. Jay Dade

MU Alumni Association


Dr. Joan Dean

Curators’ Teaching Professor, English Language and Literature

University of Missouri-Kansas City

Mr. Hubert Hoosman

UMSL Alumni Association


Ms. Lauren Huchingson

Vice Chair, Intercampus Student Council (UMR student)


Mr. Nicholas Koechig

Chair, Intercampus Student Council (UMSL student)

St. Louis

Mr. Rocky Levell

UMKC Alumni Association


Mr. Alan Marshall

Chair, Intercampus Staff Council


Dr. James Mobberley

Curators’ Professor, Music

University of Missouri-Kansas City

Dr. Kent Peaslee

Curators’ Teaching Professor, Metallurgical Engineering

University of Missouri-Rolla

Dr. Lloyd Richardson

Curators’ Teaching Professor, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

University of Missouri-St. Louis

Dr. Robert Ricklefs

Curators’ Professor, Biology

University of Missouri-St. Louis

Mr. James H. Ross

CEO, University of Missouri Health Care