University of Missouri System initiates nationwide search for Missouri S&T chancellor; announces search committee members


Christian Basi

August 21, 2018

Members include faculty, staff, students, alumni and community members

COLUMBIA, Mo. – University of Missouri System President Mun Choi today announced the start of a nationwide search for the position of chancellor at Missouri University of Science and Technology. The search will be led by the UM System HR Executive Initiatives team.  

Following nominations by Missouri S&T constituency groups, Choi named members to the search committee. Francisca Oboh-Ikuenobe, professor of geology and geophysics and biological sciences, and Tom Voss, alumnus and a member of the Missouri S&T Board of Trustees, will chair the search committee.

“Missouri S&T is an integral part of our UM System, and its success contributes significantly to the success of the entire state,” Choi said. “We are confident that we will be able to generate a broad, high-quality pool of candidates from a national audience based on the tremendous strength and reputation of this institution as well as the efforts of our in-house recruitment staff and nominations from our community, campus leadership and committee members.”

Additional search committee members include:

  • Beth Abner, past chair, Missouri S&T Staff Council 
  • Palash Kumar Bhowmik, chair, Council of Graduate Students
  • Michael Bruening, chair, Missouri S&T Faculty Senate 
  • Joel Burken, Curators Distinguished Professor and department chair, Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering 
  • John Cook, chair, Missouri S&T Staff Council
  • Marsha Fischer, chief human resources officer, UM System
  • Shannon Fogg, professor and department chair, History and Political Science
  • Xianbiao Hu, assistant professor, Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering 
  • Merilee Krueger, associate teaching professor and NTT representative, Psychology 
  • Madison Moore, president, Student Council
  • Joan Nesbitt, vice chancellor, University Advancement 
  • Stephen W. Rector, president-elect, Miner Alumni Association
  • Stephen Roberts, vice provost and dean, College of Arts, Sciences, and Business
  • Debra Robinson, vice chancellor, Student Affairs
  • Sahra Sedigh Sarvestani, associate professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering 
  • Sue Simmons, alumna and trustee, Missouri S&T Trustees
  • Constantinos Tsatsoulis, vice chancellor, Research; dean, Graduate Studies
  • G. Dan Waddill, professor, Physics
  • Kathryn Walker, alumna and trustee, Missouri S&T Trustees
  • Richard Wlezien, dean, College of Engineering and Computing 
  • Mike Woessner, member, Miner Alumni Association

Christopher Maples has been serving as interim chancellor since May 15, 2017.