Skip to main content

House Committee on Higher Education passes HB1465

The House Committee on Higher Education, chaired by Representative Donna Lichtenegger (R-146), unanimously passed HB1465, which modifies various provisions relating to degree offerings at public institutions of higher education. UM System Senior Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs Steve Graham testified in favor of the legislation, which states that the University of Missouri is the state's only public research university and the exclusive grantor of research doctorates. HB1465 is now referred to the Rules Committee on Administrative Oversight.

President Choi and MU Chancellor Cartwright testified at the Joint Committee on Education chaired by Representative David Wood (R-58). The committee was updated on a number of changes that have occurred at the University since new leaders have been named, as well as exciting research discoveries and campus programs. Cartwright spoke to MU’s mission as one of the state’s land-grant institutions and how the University can best serve the citizens of Missouri in addition to serving its students through its recent affordability initiatives. Inquiries from the committee allowed the leaders to tout increasing application numbers systemwide, enhanced post-tenure review policies and collaborative opportunities with Lincoln University among other updates. 


Reviewed 2019-08-05