Skip to main content


Apply Now

Notice of special opportunity to support small grants of up to $50,000 for 1-year projects. All qualified investigators within Missouri who are employees or staff members of any public or private educational, health care, voluntary health associations or research institutions are eligible to apply. This opportunity is particularly suited for postdoctoral fellows and early career researchers.

  • Proposal deadline: March 22, 2024. Awards announced approximately April 22, 2024.
  • Current recipients of active SCIDRP awards are not eligible for additiional SCIDRP funding.


Christian Lorson, PhD (Curators' Distinguished Professor, Associate Vice Chancellor for Research)

Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies, College of Veterinary Medicine

471G Bond Life Sciences Center (office)

University of Missouri

Columbia, MO 65211

(573) 884-2219 or 573-884-2680 (lab)

Advisory Board

Active M.D.s

Richard J. Barohn, MD (Executive Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs)

1100 Carrie Francke Drive

University of Missouri

Columbia, MO 65211 

Jeffrey M. Statland, MD (Professor, Neurology)

3901 Rainbow Boulevard

University of Kansas Medical Center

Kansas City, KS 66160 

Active Researchers

Donsheng Duan, PhD (Curators' Distinguished Professor)

Molecular Microbiology and Immunology

M609 Medical Sciences Building, DC044

University of Missouri

Columbia, MO 65211

(573) 884-9584

Joseph Klaesner, PhD (Professor of Biomedical Engineering)

Whitaker Hall, Room 390C

Washington University in St Louis

St Louis, MO 63130

(314) 935-9561

Robin Parks, PhD (Professor of Medicine)

University of Ottawa

Ottawa Hospital Research Institute

Ottawa, Ontario Canada K1H 8L6

(613) 737-8123 

Non-Physician Professional

Kerri Morgan, PhD (Assistant Professor, Occupational Therapy and Neurology)

MCS 8505-66-1

Washington University in St Louis

St Louis, MO 63108

(314) 286-1659

Non-Researchers in Organizations that support SCIDRP Priorities

Jackie Glascock, PhD (Vice President, Research)

Cure SMA

925 Busse Road

Elk Grove Village, IL 60007

(800) 886-1762

Eloise Schlafly, (Young Professionals Board)

CMT Research Foundation

Atlanta, GA 30319

(314) 244-3417

Other Reviewers

Emanuela Gussoni, PhD (Associate Professor of Pediatrics)

Genetics - CLS15021, 320 Longwood Ave

Boston Children’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School Teaching Hospital

Columbia, MO 65211

(617) 355-7572

Rashmi Kothary, PhD (Professor of Medicine)

Ottawa Hospital Research Institute

501 Smyth Road

Ottawa, ON K1H8L6 Canada

(613) 737-8707

Advisory Board Staff

Sherri Oliver, PhD, PMP

Senior Research Consultant l Proposal Development

College of Veterinary Medicine

University of Missouri

(573) 882-2081  




Reviewed 2023-09-25