Skip to main content

Media Advisory: Student researchers from UM System’s four campuses to visit State Capitol

Long Title
Media Advisory: Student researchers from University of Missouri System’s four campuses to visit State Capitol

WHAT: Undergraduate students from each of the four University of Missouri System campuses will travel to Jefferson City to participate in the UM System’s Undergraduate Research Day at the Capitol. The annual event provides an opportunity for students to share with state lawmakers the wide variety of undergraduate research taking place across the university system. Students will highlight a broad spectrum of research conducted at the university including research in the areas of education, health, agriculture, biotechnology, transportation and infrastructure, social services, and economic development.

In total, 54 students will exhibit their research projects to Missouri legislators: 24 from the University of Missouri-Columbia, 19 from the Missouri University of Science and Technology, nine from the University of Missouri-Kansas City and two from the University of Missouri-St. Louis.

WHEN: Tuesday, March 15, 2016

10:30 a.m. – 1 p.m. (Student Display/Poster Session)

WHERE: Missouri State Capitol, Jefferson City

3rd Floor Rotunda

2016 Undergraduate Research Day Student Attendees

University of Missouri-Columbia

Badr Almadi, Columbia, MO
Benton Berigan, Chesterfield
Sarah Biehn, O'Fallon, Ill.
Jade Casey, Eldon
Nathan Coffey, Wheaton, Ill.
William Galvin, Chesterfield
Jonathan Gootee, Peoria, Ill.
Katherine Hobbs, Columbia
Romanus Hutchins, Chicago, Ill.
Kirtan Joshi, Columbia
Bailee Kain, Colona, Ill.
Kathleen Kowalsky, Castle Rock, Colo.
Andrew Ludwig, St. Louis
Brendan Marsh, Wildwood
Will McHargue, Chesterfield
Devin Petersohn, Columbia
Khalil Rahman, Aurora, Ill.
Maria Raquel Juarez, Blue Springs
Sam Runge, O'Fallon
Kara Schrand, O'Fallon
Chelsea Titus, Waialua, Hawaii
Taylor Wagner, Kirkwood
Alex Willenbrink, Chesterfield
Casey Yocks, Wentzville

University of Missouri-Kansas City

Mariana Bichara, Independence
Jared DeLee, Union Star
Samantha Dodda, Kansas City
Colton Gene Luttrell, Kansas City
Larry Hernandez, Raytown
Sara Lamprise, Kansas City
Annie Liljegren, Lebanon
Matthew Paul, Kearney
Andrew Ramsey, Overland Park, Kan.

Missouri University of Science and Technology

Edna Armstrong, Rolla
Robert Block, Rolla
Arielle Bodine, Rolla
Patrick Brennan, St. Charles
Abagail Campbell, Rolla
Kelci Davis, St. Charles
Stephen Eastman, St. Peters
Kent Gorday, Foristell
Sierra Herndon, St. James
Katherine Herries, St. Louis
Benjamin Hill, Marshfield
John Hostetler, Columbia
Morgan Hovis, Fredericktown
Ava Hughes, St. Louis
Darian Johnson, Kansas City
Katlyn Lonergan, Raymore
Angelica Oliva, Sullivan
Jenna Slocum, New Haven
Samuel Smith, Bourbon

University of Missouri-St. Louis

Christine Noto, St. Peters
Diane Queensen, St. Peters

Reviewed 2016-11-04