Skip to main content

Media Advisory: Student researchers from UM System's four campuses to visit State Capitol


Kelly Wiemann

WHAT:                  Undergraduate students from each of the four University of Missouri System campuses will travel to Jefferson City to participate in the UM System’s Undergraduate Research Day at the Capitol. The annual event provides an opportunity for students to share with state lawmakers the wide variety of undergraduate research taking place across the university system. Students will highlight a broad spectrum of research conducted at the university including research in the areas of education, health, agriculture, biotechnology, transportation and infrastructure, social services, and economic development. 

In total, 42 students will present their research projects to Missouri legislators: 21 from the University of Missouri-Columbia, 12 from the University of Missouri-Kansas City, seven from the Missouri University of Science and Technology and two from the University of Missouri-St. Louis. 


WHEN:                  Tuesday, April 4, 2017

                            10:30 a.m. – 1 p.m. (Student Display/Poster Session)

WHERE:                Missouri State Capitol, Jefferson City

                             3rd Floor Rotunda


Please see below for a list of students attending Undergraduate Research Day, and their hometowns.

2017 Undergraduate Research Day Student Attendees

University of Missouri-Columbia
Lindsay Beachner, Lee’s Summit

Alicia Brueggemann, Beaufort

Jennifer Buehler, Manchester

Caroline Dunn, Houston

Morgan Fryman, Steelville

James Monroe Gamble IV, Liberty

Sarah Gebken, Florissant

Caroline Gjerstad, Santa Cruz, Calif.

Kaydee Harper, Wentzville

Lia Howe, Lee’s Summit

Minh Ma, Fulton

Kenya Phillips, St. Louis

Annie Rusthoven, Hinsdale, Ill.

Kara Schulte, O’Fallon

Emily Shaw, Columbia

Madeline Simon, Columbia 

Natalie Stanton, St. Louis

Daniel Westfall, Saint Robert

Brooklyn White, Maryville, Ill.

Kirsten Zemke, Downer’s Grove, Ill.

Katie Ziegler, Jefferson City


University of Missouri-Kansas City

LeAnna Cates, Wildwood

Jacob Gurera, Kansas City

Joe Haller, Kearney

Jorgue Martinez, Monett

Stephanie Montoya, Kansas City

Ronald Morris, Independence

Scott Nickell, Northmoor

Monika Patel, Lexington

Chelsea Pfaffly, Pleasant Valley

Morgan Staudinger, Greenwood

Ada Thapa, Kathmandu, Nepal

Tevin Williams, Waynesville

Missouri University of Science and Technology

Brett Buswell, Aurora, Colo.

Patrick Cahill, St. Charles

Jana Hochard, Weston

Kyara Holloway, Waynesville

Shane Lawson, St. James

Emily Quist, Wildwood

Tristan Shatto, Plattsburg


University of Missouri-St. Louis

Michael Austin, Arnold

Chris Summers, Fenton

Reviewed 2017-04-03