Skip to main content

University of Missouri announces second class of Presidential Engagement Fellows

Engagement program continues to exemplify university’s commitment to state

Columbia, Mo. — Today at the University of Missouri Board of Curators meeting, UM System President Mun Choi introduced the 2019-2020 Presidential Engagement Fellows. As a Presidential Engagement Fellow, select faculty members represent the UM System and share their research discoveries and expert knowledge with Missouri citizens in every county. 

“The University of Missouri System is home to outstanding faculty. Our Presidential Engagement Fellows are among our finest and most engaged scholars," Choi said. "With expertise in education, community-based health and more, our 2019-2020 class will offer great value to our communities. I am eager to see them build on the efforts of our inaugural class and use their knowledge to help improve the lives of our citizens.” 

Members of the 2019-2020 Presidential Engagement Fellows class are:

  • Jannette Berkley-Patton, biomedical and health informatics, University of Missouri-Kansas City
  • Andrew Clarke, food science, University of Missouri-Columbia
  • Libby Cowgill, anthropology, University of Missouri-Columbia
  • Ty-Ron Douglas, educational leadership and policy analysis, University of Missouri-Columbia
  • Jerritt Frank, history, University of Missouri-Columbia
  • Manuel Leal, biological sciences, University of Missouri-Columbia
  • Jon McGinnis, classical and medieval philosophy, University of Missouri-Saint Louis
  • John McManus, history and political science, Missouri University of Science and Technology
  • Audra Merfeld-Langston, arts, languages, and philosophy, Missouri University of Science and Technology
  • Leigh Neier, learning, teaching and curriculum, University of Missouri-Columbia
  • Barbara Pahud, pediatrics, University of Missouri-Kansas City
  • William Schonberg, civil, architectural, and environmental engineering, Missouri University of Science and Technology
  • Rachel Winograd, Missouri Institute of Mental Health, University of Missouri-Saint Louis
  • Gerald Wyckoff, biological sciences, University of Missouri-Kansas City
  • Lara Zwarun, communication and media, University of Missouri-Saint Louis  

Faculty members were selected by each university based on their demonstrated excellence and their ability to communicate their research to the public.

There is no cost for an organization or individual to host a speaker. For more information, please visit:  



Reviewed 2023-09-19