Skip to main content

University of Missouri Board of Curators elects officers for 2017

Long Title
University of Missouri Board of Curators elects officers for 2017

ST. LOUIS, Mo. – Maurice B. “Marcy” Graham of St. Louis was elected to a one-year term as chair of the University of Missouri Board of Curators during the board’s December meeting in St. Louis, which concluded today. John Phillips of Kansas City was elected vice chair. The leadership terms for Graham and Phillips are effective January 1, 2017.

Graham was appointed to the board of curators in January 2015. He currently serves as chair of the audit committee, and is also a member of the executive and compensation and human resources committees. An attorney, Graham is president of the law firm of Gray, Ritter and Graham, P.C. and is past president of the Missouri Bar, the St. Louis Bar Foundation and the University of Missouri Law School Foundation. He has served as a member and chairman of the Supreme Court Advisory Committee, which oversees attorney discipline in Missouri. Graham attended Central Methodist University and obtained both his bachelor’s degree and juris doctorate from the University of Missouri-Columbia. He has received distinguished alumni awards from both universities, and is a past member of the Board of Curators of Central Methodist University as well as a trustee of the philanthropic MU Jefferson Club.

Also an attorney, Phillips was appointed to the board in 2013. He practices law at Husch Blackwell LLP law firm, specializing in labor and employment relations and healthcare law. He is the former chair of the American Bar Association Dispute Resolution Section and the Missouri Bar Alternative Dispute Resolution and Labor and Employment Committees. Phillips attended the University of Missouri-Columbia and received a bachelor’s degree in business and public administration, as well as, a juris doctorate. He has served as an adjunct faculty member at Rockhurst College and Washburn University School of Law. Civically engaged, Phillips serves as Director and Officer of Saint Luke’s Health System and Saint Luke’s Hospital of Kansas City and as legal counsel for the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art.

The board of curators is the governing body of the University of Missouri and consists of nine members who are appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. Curators serve six-year terms with three terms expiring every two years.

For a high resolution photo of Graham, visit
For a high resolution photo of Phillips, visit

Reviewed 2016-12-09