Skip to main content

Media Advisory: Student researchers from University of Missouri System’s four campuses to visi

Long Title
Media Advisory: Student researchers from University of Missouri System’s four campuses to visit State Capitol

WHAT:    46 students representing all four University of Missouri campuses will display examples of the cutting edge research they are currently working on as part of the university’s Undergraduate Research Day. 20 students from MU, 16 from Missouri S&T, eight from UMKC and two from UMSL were each selected as part of a competitive process to attend, where they will showcase their research in a variety of disciplines to state legislators and other visitors. Displays will feature a variety of undergraduate research examples, including crop health and plant diseases, human health, roadway and traffic studies, the impact of bullying in schools, mining communities, and reading strategies for mothers of autistic children.

Students will also visit with UM System President Tim Wolfe and Executive Vice-President for Academic Affairs Hank Foley about their work.

“Students on our four campuses demonstrate remarkable innovations, ingenuity, determination and skill in their research pursuits,” Wolfe said. “This experience exposes them, even as undergraduates, to the wonders and endless possibilities of research, and sets them up to serve as the next generation of scientists and entrepreneurs whose work could one day find new cures, invent new products, establish new businesses and create new jobs.”

WHEN:     Tuesday, March 4
Student researcher displays, 3rd Floor Rotunda
10:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.

WHERE:     Missouri State Capitol, Jefferson City

Undergraduate Research Day student attendees:


  • Dakota Botts, Lee’s Summit
  • Janae Bradley, St. Louis   
  • Amber Forbis, Kansas City
  • Nicole Herrera, Kansas City
  • Paige Martz, Prairie View, KS        
  • Paige McCane, Lee’s Summit                                        
  • William McNeary, Charleston        
  • Charles Meyer, St. Louis                 
  • Eun Min, Chesterfield
  • Alexandra Ragsdale, St. Louis        
  • Hannah Reese, Columbia                                
  • Jeanette Rimbey, Columbia           
  • Sean Rogers, Lebanon
  • Landon Rohowetz, Ellisville
  • Marc Rosenbohm, Graham
  • Anna Rudy, Platte City
  • Kati Seitz, Columbia
  • Che-Min Su, Columbia
  • Riley Wartick, Kansas City
  • Zachariah Winkler, Kansas City


  • Mackenzie Bentley, Independence
  • Harsh Desai, Blue Springs
  • Rachel Horn, Kansas City
  • William Leverette, Lee’s Summit
  • Amanda Lopez, Grain Valley
  • Joseph Salazar, Kansas City
  • Dallas Taylor, Kansas City
  • Audrey Wadood, Kansas City

Missouri S&T

  • Brittney Abel, Republic
  • Melissa Buechlein, St. Louis
  • Melissa Elder, Waynesville
  • Brianne Heisinger, Florissant
  • Amanda Holmes, Rolla
  • Sahitya Injamuri, Ballwin
  • Kathryn Koeperich, Kansas City
  • Lindsay Koeperich, Kansas City
  • Thanh Nguyen, Chesterfield
  • Chidiebere Onukogu, Florissant
  • Natasha Stoneking, Kearney
  • Anthony Tedeschi, Fort Dodge, IA
  • Samuel Turpin, Jefferson City
  • Jordan Verslues, Rocheport
  • Laura Welsh, Lee’s Summit
  • Caitlin Wilkes, Independence


  • Serene Darwish, Florissant
  • Alysha LeMay, Lucedale, MS





Reviewed 2014-03-20