Skip to main content

Media Advisory: Student researchers from UM System's four campuses present at Missouri State Capitol


Christian Basi


Undergraduate students from each of the four University of Missouri System campuses will travel to Jefferson City to participate in the UM System’s Undergraduate Research Day at the Capitol. The annual event provides an opportunity for students to showcase their research accomplishments with state lawmakers. Students will present a broad array of research conducted at the four campuses including the areas of agriculture, biology, chemistry, education, engineering, health, history, physics, psychology, social services and transportation and infrastructure.

In total, 48 students will present their research projects to Missouri legislators: 11 from the University of Missouri-Columbia, 12 from the University of Missouri-Kansas City, 13 from the Missouri University of Science and Technology and 12 from the University of Missouri-St. Louis.



10 a.m., Thursday, April 6



Missouri State Capitol, Jefferson City

3rd floor rotunda


Please see below for a list of students attending Undergraduate Research Day, and their hometowns.


2023 Undergraduate Research Day Student Attendees


Noura Alhachami, Senior, Columbia, Missouri

Aravind Kalathil, Senior, O'Fallon, Missouri

Kristen Barwick, Junior, Cape Girardeau, Missouri

Graham Bond, Junior, Jefferson City, Missouri

Elli Castonguay, Senior, St. Louis, Missouri

Aidan David-Pennington, Junior, Blue Springs, Missouri

Danny Davis, Junior, Shakopee, Minnesota

Madeline Easley, Junior, Troy, Missouri

Aubrey Pipkins, Junior, Gainesville, Missouri

Amy Winkler, Sophomore, Overland Park, Kansas

Aidan Wirrick, Senior, St. Louis, Missouri



Logan Baerman, Senior, St. Louis, Missouri

Zalyia Carr, Senior, Overland Park, Kansas

Suha Cho, Senior, Seoul, South Korea

Hannah Edwards, Senior, Independence, Missouri

Sarah Herndon, Senior, Lone Jack, Missouri

Nusaybah Ibrahim, Senior, Kansas City, Missouri

Laylah Liwaru, Junior, Kansas City, Missouri

MaAh Kyi, Senior, Kansas City, Missouri

Tinh Nim, Senior, Kansas City, Missouri

Chris Viermann, Sophomore, Lee's Summit, Missouri

Lindsy Todd, Junior, Grain Valley, Missouri

Judy Vun, Kansas City, Missouri



Erik Bergstrom, Junior, Riverside, Missouri

Samuel Hackett, Sophomore, O'Fallon, Missouri

Gabrielle Hightower, Senior, Kansas City, Missouri

Isabella Kestle, Freshman, Rolla, Missouri

Caleb Moellenhoff, Junior, Ballwin, Missouri

Jackson Oglesby, Senior, Lee's Summit, Missouri

Shay Pelfrey, Senior, Rolla, Missouri

Justin Penn, Senior, Bonne Terre, Missouri

Dustin Peterson, Senior, Grain Valley, Missouri

Shelby Ply, Senior, Rolla, Missouri

Gabriel Riddle, Sophomore, Kidder, Missouri

Sarah Riley, Senior, Arnold, Missouri

Molly Ripper, Junior, St. Louis, Missouri



Jake Arbogast, Junior, St. Louis, Missouri

Jacob Wilson, Senior, St. Louis, Missouri

Laurel Bascom, Junior, St. Louis, Missouri

Yuki Chen, Junior, St. Louis, Missouri

Celeste Haefner, Junior, Wentzville, Missouri

Lindsey Marske, Junior     

Zahria Patrick, Junior, St. Louis, Missouri

Olivia Roesner, Junior, Montgomery City, Missouri

Vijay Muppalla, Senior, Vijayawada, AP, India

Bri Petty, Senior, St. Louis, Missouri

Jake Venegoni, Junior, Ballwin, Missouri

Anderson Spencer, Senior, Forsyth, Missouri

Reviewed 2023-04-03