Skip to main content

Three new University of Missouri Curators take oath of office

Contact: Jennifer Hollingshead

Office: (573) 882-0601


Three new members of the University of Missouri Board of Curators took their oath of office on Thursday.

Warren K. Erdman of Kansas City, Buford M. (Bo) Fraser of Columbia and Judith Haggard of Kennett were appointed to the nine-member Board in December by Gov. Matt Blunt. The Curators were appointed to six-year terms beginning Jan. 1, 2007, and they will serve pending Missouri State Senate confirmation of their appointments. The three were sworn in during the opening of a special Board of Curators meeting in Columbia, called to consider hiring an executive recruitment firm to lead the search for the University's next president.

Erdman is senior vice president of corporate affairs at Kansas City Southern. Prior to joining Kansas City Southern, he served as chief of staff for U.S. Sen. Kit Bond, R-Mo. Erdman succeeds Angela M. Bennett of Kansas City, whose term expired. He represents the 5th Congressional District.

Fraser is chairman of the board of Boone County National Bank, and previously served more than two decades as the bank's CEO and chairman. Fraser succeeds Thomas A. Atkins of Columbia, whose term expired. He represents the 9th Congressional District.

Haggard is a family nurse practitioner at SEMO Health Network. She has also worked as a board examiner for the Missouri Substance Abuse Examiners Board. Haggard succeeds Anne Ream of West Plains, whose term expired. She represents the 8th Congressional District.

The Board of Curators governs the University of Missouri system, with campuses in Columbia, Kansas City, Rolla and St. Louis.

Reviewed 2010-06-15