Go to navigation Go to content

University of Missouri Board of Curators names three curators’ professors


Christian Basi

February 27, 2009

The University of Missouri Board of Curators appointed three individuals as curators' professors at its board meeting Feb. 6, 2009, to recognize their exemplary service, research and contributions to the university. The appointees include Dr. Kattesh V. Katti, professor of physics and radiology; Dr. James Birchler, professor of biological sciences; and Dr. M. Lynne Cooper, professor of psychology, all from the University of Missouri.

Only outstanding scholars with established reputations are considered for curators' professor. All three appointments were effective Jan. 1, 2009, and include a $5,000 annual stipend, less applicable taxes, as long as the positions are held.

Dr. Kattesh V. Katti, professor of physics and radiology

Katti joined the faculty at MU as a research assistant professor of radiology in 1990. He is currently director of the Nanoparticles Production Core Facility (NPCF).

Katti has received many prestigious awards, including the 2007 Outstanding St. Louis Fellows Award given by the Academy of Science in St. Louis for his discoveries in the development of gold and silver nanoparticles for applications in nanomedicine, and the Outstanding Missourian award, given by the Missouri House of Representatives, for his advancements in cancer research.

Dr. James Birchler, professor of biological sciences

Birchler joined the MU faculty in 1991. Prior to his arrival, he served as an associate professor at Harvard University.

Birchler received his doctorate degree in genetics/biochemistry from Indiana University. He is a member of the Genetics Society of America and Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Genetic Association, and the American Society of Plant Biologists. He received the Award for Excellence in Academic Achievements in 2007.

Dr. M. Lynne Cooper, professor of psychology

Cooper joined the MU faculty in 1995. She received her doctorate degree from the University of California at Santa Cruz in 1987 and her Master of Public Health in 1979 from California State in San Jose.

Cooper is the recipient of several awards and honors, including the chancellor's award for creative research in behavioral & behavioral science, faculty performance award for excellence, independent scientist development award, and the independent scientist development award, among others. She also serves as president of the coalition for academic, scientific and applied psychologists.