Go to navigation Go to content

University of Missouri Board of Curators elect officers for 2009


Christian Basi

December 26, 2008

Bo Fraser of Columbia was elected to a one-year term as chair of the University of Missouri Board of Curators during the board’s meeting Dec. 12 in St. Louis. Judy Haggard of Kennett, Mo., was elected vice chair.

The one-year leadership terms for Fraser and Haggard begin Jan. 1, 2009. Fraser, who served this year as the board’s vice chair, succeeds Curator Cheryl Walker of St. Louis, whose board term expires Dec. 31. Curators Don Walsworth of Marceline and Marion Cairns of Webster Groves also have expiring terms.

Fraser currently chairs the Executive Committee and is a member of the Compensation and Human Resources Committee and the Finance and Audit Committee. He is chairman of the board of Boone County National Bank and was previously the bank’s chairman and CEO for more than 20 years. He received his bachelor’s degree in business from Benedictine College and is a graduate of the Southwestern School of Banking at Southern Methodist University.

Fraser is a member of the board of directors for Benedictine College and is serving as co-chair on the committee working to build a Catholic high school in Columbia.

He also has served on the boards of Columbia College, the Community Development Corporation, Regional Economic Development, Inc., United Way, the Columbia Chamber of Commerce, Rotary, Missouri Innovation Center and Advent/Job Point. He has received the Governor’s Economic Development Volunteer of the Year award and the Columbia Chamber of Commerce Citizen of the Year award.

Haggard currently chairs the Academic and Student Affairs Committee and is a member of the Physical Facilities and Management Services Committee and the Resources and Planning Committee. She is a Family Nurse Practitioner at the SEMO Health Network in Kennett and an examiner for the Missouri Substance Abuse Board. She received her bachelor’s degree in nursing from the University of Missouri-Columbia and her master’s degree in nursing from the University of Missouri-St. Louis.

Haggard is a past board member of the State Alcohol Council, the Delta Children’s Home and the Visiting Nurses’ Association and is the founder of the Dunklin County Caring Community Council. She has received the Community Service Award in recognition of her community work in Kennett.

The board of curators is the governing body of the University of Missouri and consists of nine members who are appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. Curators serve six-year terms with three terms expiring every two years.