Go to navigation Go to content

Previous President’s Award for University Citizenship (Leadership, Mentoring, and Service)


There are three categories of Faculty Citizenship Awards.

  • The Leadership Award recognizes faculty who have provided exemplary leadership for the university. Examples of areas of leadership include, but are not limited to, faculty/shared governance, major curricular reform or program development, chairing a department or academic program, and fostering collaboration between or among departments, divisions or schools.
  • The Service Award recognizes faculty for distinguished service on one of the UM campuses or to the UM System. Nominees should have made exceptional contributions to achieving one or more goals of the university, while embodying the values of the university.
  • The Mentoring Award recognizes faculty who have provided exemplary mentoring for other faculty.


2017 Leadership Award Recipient

Ming Leu, Mechanical Engineering, Missouri S&T

Previous Recipients
Leadership Award Recipient
Year Honoree Department Campus
2016 Chi-Ren Shyu Electrical and Computer Engineering UM-Columbia
2015 Mary Troy English UM-St. Louis
2014 Mariesa Crow Electrical Engineering Missouri S&T
2013 Michael B. Kruger Department of Physics and Astronomy UM-Kansas City
2012 Joy D. Swallow Architecture, Urban Planning & Design UM-Kansas City
2011 Gary L. Ebersole Professor of History UM-Kansas City


Mentoring Award Recipient
Previous Recipients
Mentoring Award Recipient
Year Honoree Department Campus
2014 Yinfa Ma Teaching Professor Missouri S&T
2013 Wayne Huebner Department of Materials Science and Engineering Missouri S&T
2011 Thomas W. Dougherty Professor of Management UM-Columbia


2017 Service Award Recipient

Berkley Hudson, Journalism, UM-Columbia

Previous Recipients
Service Award Recipient
Year Honoree Department Campus
2016 Sally Barr Ebest English and Gender Studies UM-St. Louis
2015 Joel G. Burken Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering Missouri S&T
2014 Frank Schmidt Biochemistry UM-Columbia
2013 Vicki Sauter Department of Information Systems UM-St. Louis
2012 John D. David Biological Sciences UM-Columbia
2011 Timothy A. Farmer Accounting UM-St. Louis

Reviewed 2018-04-03.